Your Vessel

Looking down,

Feeling dread,

Could I somehow be better instead?

But the voice is different this time,

And like a sweet melody it sings to me,

“Love yourself my dear,

This stomach you poke and prod,

It sustains you,

It gives you life,

It is your best friend,

Those arms you cover in shame,

They are your greatest champions,

They free you from your chains,

They are your best friend,

Those legs you wish were longer, were more toned, were somehow better,

They carry you through,

They are your ship,

They are your best friend,

This body is beautiful,

She rebuilds after tragedy,

She moves you through times of triumph,

She is your vessel,

Your very dearest friend”.

 

Hayley Geri 2017 ©

Author: dreamingofluminousthings

Hey I'm Hayley. 25. Australian. Female. Poet/Writer. Writing is my greatest outlet. It is my passion and my escape from an often twisted reality.

Leave a Reply

